One from the archives – Marty Moose

Well it’s been two seasons now with our favourite Moose and we though we’d show you the first interview we did with Marty Moose.

A new interview is being organised but it’s not an easy thing to do, he’s a pretty busy guy.

Wandering out of the wilderness after a long Canadian Winter, a young Moose decided to leave his home in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan to pursue his dreams of an ice hockey mascot career.

With a desire to experience the southern hemisphere, but with still a deep affinity for all things Northern, his heart was set on joining the Newcastle Northstars.

Marty is a handy right handed defensive player, but his real talent lies in revving up fans! Craig Tonks caught up with Marty over a couple of pieces of bark and some maple syrup.

Craig Tonks:: Hi Marty! Thanks for sitting down with me.

Marty Moose:: No problems Craig, great to finally be here!

CT:: So who was your favourite hockey team as a young moose growing up in hockey-mad Canada ?

MM:: Oh, the Manitoba Moose, for sure! My Aunty Marcia went to high school with their mascot Mick E. Moose in the late 90’s. Of course he’s an NHL’er now with the Winnipeg Jets , which is the dream of every young Moose growing up on the prairies.

CT:: Are you excited for season 2014 as the North Stars mascot?

MM:: Oh, definitely! I’m so excited to be here and I’m extremely proud to be chosen to represent the North Stars for this season and beyond! I’ve heard a lot about the hockey community in Newcastle and can’t wait to be part of it. Plus I’m keen to learn to surf, and eat some eucalyptus leaves. With maple syrup.

CT:: What number jersey will you be in this year?

MM:: Double O – You can’t spell Moose without O-O !

CT:: Are you expecting a warm welcome from the other AIHL mascots?

MM:: I’m not sure it will be a WARM welcome… but the other mascots will be cool. At the end of the day we all love our teams and our hockey. We can have a fun rivalry and still respect each other and hang out after. But we’ll see who has the better dance moves! I’ve been working on some stuff with some of the guys since I got here – JFK has been mentoring me. That guy can really move!

CT:: Well Marty, on behalf of the entire North Stars organisation we would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to Newcastle and we look forward to your debut as our official mascot! What sort of antics can we expect from you in 2014?

MM:: Thanks so much Craig! I already love it here and I will do my best to make the North Stars proud and spread awareness of our wonderful game. I met my team last night and they are a fantastic bunch of players. I’m not going to give too much away just yet, but we will all have a lot of fun! I’m on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, look for @MartyMoose00. There’ll be plenty of interesting stuff happening there, I do love my social media!

BIO Highlights

D.o.b. : 18.07.1990

Favourite food : Bark covered with Maple syrup

Favourite show : Northern Exposure

Favourite drink : Pond water, if it’s clean and icy cold.

North Stars Fans, the Moose is loose!

#wearenewcastle #mooseisloose

 

 

Leave a Reply

